Project Documentation

by jamesrunacres

Production Timetable of FYP

Week 1-3:

The first three weeks I will spend it collating more ideas for Kafka’s aphorisms, as it is a very slow process as they are complex to decipher and then reflect in your own way. I will also hone up my Photoshop skills as I will be using Photoshop a lot for the first time in a project, and I feel that I’m simply not good enough yet to achieve the photographs I want to achieve. These three weeks will be used to confirm my ideas for all 14 aphorisms that I have chosen and to practice as much Photoshop so I’m prepared for when I have finished taking all the photographs. I will also go spotting with the Camera on a couple of occasions to see if I can find some inspiration for Kafka’s aphorisms.

Week 4:

In Week 4, I will attempt to spend time recceing for locations as I had this issue with my test photographs. The longer time I spend finding the right location, the more it will benefit my picture and achieve the photograph I want. Also, in Week 4 I will book the studio out for a couple of hours. First to test the lighting that I want to achieve for the portrait for Aphorism 16, then I have found a model who is willing to pose naked. Therefore I have set a date on Wednesday 12th February when I will take the photos that I need of her. I will complete Aphorism 16 this week, as I will re-do the self-portraitures of myself, as I didn’t have a tripod for the test photos.

 

Week 5:

I will be looking for further locations in  Week 5 if I haven’t found all the locations that I need for all my photographs. Whilst out looking for locations I shall take the camera with me in hope for some further inspiration in creating a modern reflection of Kafka’s work.

 

Weeks 6-12:

Hopefully by Week 6 I should have all the background work done for the photographs, I may still be searching for one or two photographs but these 6 weeks will consist of me taking the photographs I need to compose the final 14.

 

Final Month:

The final month will consist of the post-editing process. As I think quite a lot of the photographs will need a lot of Photoshopping , I have reserved an entire month to do this.

 List of Equipment

 

–       Nikon D3000 (Flatmate’s camera) This camera will be used the most as it more easily accessible for me than loaning the one’s out at uni.

–       Nikon D7000 from Uni for the self portraits and any portraits in the Studio. With my flatmates camera it was difficult to get the self portraits that I wanted therefore, I feel I shall try it with the D7000.

–       Tripod

–       Possible lighting for self portraits, depending on the light of the room.

 

Budget for FYP

 

–       The model has agreed to pose for free, therefore, I will not have to spend any money on that. The only thing that I will have to spend money on is travel costs to go and find suitable locations. For the entire project, I predict a budget around £50-70 which include the prints for the final hand in.

 

Budget for Exhibition of Photographs

 

– I’m not sure on whether I’m having 14 books with a photograph in each of all the photographs in one book. If I was choosing to have 14 books the exhibition will cost somewhere in the region of £150. If I choose to have one book it will cost about £10. There are no other current things I will need for the exhibition.